Rereading My Childhood – A Year With the BSC #26: Sweet Camp Moolah

A Year With the BSC is an informal series wherein I explore the 1990’s CD-ROM video game The Baby-sitters Club Friendship Kit. The game is more of a personal organizer; it features with a calendar, an address book, a stationary kit, a flyer maker, and a personality profile. I’m focusing on the more interesting aspect of the game: the personalized letters and the journal entries. The full list of entries can be found at rereadingmychildhood.com.

Merry Christmas, everyone! I’m writing this on December 25th itself and I hope you’re having as great a day as me!

This week, Mallory Pike sent me a letter.

104.JPG

One of the questions in my profile is “Do you share a room?” Since I technically share a room with my partner, I chose “No.” However, I think this means something different to Mallory.

Meanwhile, at Camp Snowflake, the kids are getting a little rambunctious.

105

What do you mean “fortunately,” Mallory? The kids were attacking each other and their food, but it started snowing, so everything’s okay? That doesn’t make any sense. If you want to be a writer, you should really think about your adverbs.

Also, the weather here was rainy, and I liked it very much. Thank you for asking.

106.JPG

You guys should really think about not doing a camp all the time. Summer Camp. Spring Break Camp. Winter Break Camp. Camp Camp. God, you’d think some Camp Corporation would move into Stoneybrook with all this opportunity for camp profits. Camps are money making schemes, right? Like, the people who run the camps are just flush with cash? The most camp experience I have is with the movie Sleepaway Camp and Mel really wanted that sweet camp moolah and that’s why he wouldn’t shut it down after the first attack.

107.JPG

I don’t know, Abby. All the money in the world? I’d be a super villain. I guess I’d have to pour it all into impenetrable fortresses and minions. And diabolical schemes. “You’ll never catch me, Baby-Sitting Brats! My doomsday machine will trigger before you can get the shutdown sequence! Mwa hahahahahahaha!”

Leave a comment