Rereading My Childhood – A Year With the BSC #34: Saying Yuck Weird

A Year With the BSC is an informal series wherein I explore the 1990’s CD-ROM video game The Baby-sitters Club Friendship Kit. The game is more of a personal organizer; it features with a calendar, an address book, a stationary kit, a flyer maker, and a personality profile. I’m focusing on the more interesting aspect of the game: the personalized letters and the journal entries. The full list of entries can be found at rereadingmychildhood.com.

My favorite BSC member is Mary Anne. She’s sweet, caring, unexpectedly funny, and has a real journey with her father and growing up. And finally, this week, she sent me a letter.

135.JPG

It’s not quite the personalized letter I enjoy, but I’ll take it.

136

You can’t tell, reader, but if only I could embed the way the voice actress says, “Yuck.” Here’s the closest I can do: “Yeauck.” Pronounce every vowel.

137.JPG

Well, if the old people didn’t enjoy the kids assaulting them with hearts, they wouldn’t say anything. I bet the oldies actually enjoyed it – they like corny horrible things like child duos performing harmonica/piano music. And even if they didn’t like it, dementia will make sure they don’t remember it! Just kidding, support dementia research.

138.JPG

When I do the statistics at the end of this, I’m going to figure out on average how many words Claudia misspells per entry. I think she’s trolling me.

Leave a comment